Texas Society for Music Theory
35th Annual Conference
March 1 - 2, 2013
University of North Texas
Denton, TX

Conference Program

March 1 - Morning Sessions

Floyd Graham Room (MU 251), UNT College of Music

COFFEE and REGISTRATION: (8:00 - 9:00)

Recital Hall (MU 301), UNT College of Music

WELCOME: (9:00 - 9:15)

Stephen Slottow, Chair, Local Arrangements Committee
Frank Heidlberger, Chair, Division
James Scott, Dean

SESSION I: (9:15 - 10:45) - 20th-Century Topics

Session chair: Edward Pearsall (University of Texas at Austin)

BREAK: (10:45 - 11:00)

SESSION II: (11:00 - 12:00) Baroque/Medieval Vocal Music

Session chair: John Snyder (University of Houston)

LUNCH: (12:00 - 1:30)
Silver Eagle Suite, UNT University Union

March 1 - Afternoon Sessions

Recital Hall (MU 301), UNT College of Music


BREAK: (2:30 - 2:40)

SESSION III: (2:40 - 4:10) - Beethoven/Brahms

Session chair: Robert Hatten (University of Texas at Austin)

BREAK: (4:10 - 4:20)

KEYNOTE ADDRESS: (4:20 - 5:20)

RECEPTION: (5:30 - 6:30)
College of Music Building Commons

March 2

Floyd Graham Room (MU 251), UNT College of Music

COFFEE (8:00 - 8:45)

Recital Hall, UNT College of Music

SESSION IV: (8:45 - 10:15) - Expression/Efficacy/Idioms

Session chair: John Cotner (Stephen F. Austin State University)

BREAK (10:15 - 10:25)

PANEL SESSION: (10:25 - 11:55) - From trailer to historic legacy: Approaches to Analyzing Music in Film

Session chair: Peter Martens (Texas Tech University)

BREAK: (11:55 - noon)


TSMT Executive Board

Graham Hunt (University of Texas at Arlington), President
Matthew Santa (Texas Tech University), Immediate Past President
Philip Baczewski (University of North Texas), Secretary
Andrew Davis (University of Houston), Treasurer
Sean Atkinson (University of Texas at Arlington)
Kevin Clifton (Sam Houston State University)
Eric Lai (Baylor University)
Sarah Sarver (Oklahoma City University)

Program Committee

Robert Hatten (University of Texas at Austin)
Rachel Mitchell (University of North Texas)
Timothy McKinney (Baylor University)
David Easley (Oklahoma City University)

Local Arrangements (University of North Texas)

Stephen Slottow, Arrangements Chair
Daniel Arthurs
Justin Lavacek
Rachel Mitchell

This page is maintained by Philip Baczewski

[TSMT Web Site]