Texas Society for Music Theory
36th Annual Conference
March 2 - 3, 2014
University of Texas, San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas

Conference Program

March 7 - Morning Sessions

Buena Vista Street Theater, University of Texas at San Antonio

COFFEE and REGISTRATION: (8:00 - 9:00)

WELCOME: (9:00)

SESSION I: (9:15 - 10:45) - 19th Century Aesthetics, Agency, and Embodiment

Session Chair: Robert Hatten, University of Texas at Austin

BREAK: (10:45 - 11:00)

SESSION II: (11:00 - 12:00) Metric Analysis

Session Chair: Ken Stephenson, University of Oklahoma

LUNCH: (12:00 - 1:30)

March 7 - Afternoon Sessions

SESSION III (Pedagogy): (1:30 - 2:30) - Building Bridges: Music Theory from High School to College

Moderator: Blaise Ferrandino, Texas Christian University

BREAK: (2:30 - 2:40)

SESSION IV: (2:40 - 4:10) - 18th- and 19th-Century Form

Session Chair: Timothy McKinney, Baylor University

Keynote Address: (4:10 - 5:10)

Reception to follow in the auditorium lobby, sponsored by UTSA SAI

March 8

Buena Vista Street Theater, University of Texas at San Antonio

Coffee (8:00 - 9:00)

SESSION V: (9:00 - 10:30) - Harmony and Counterpoint

Session Chair: Daniel Arthurs, University of North Texas

BREAK: (10:30 - 10:40)

SESSION VI: (10:40 - 11:40) - Brahms

Session Chair: Eric Lai, Baylor University

BREAK: (11:40 - 12:00)

TSMT Business Meeting: (12:00 - 12:30)

TSMT Executive Board

Graham Hunt (University of Texas at Arlington), President
Matthew Santa (Texas Tech University), Past President
Philip Baczewski (University of North Texas), Secretary
Andrew Davis (University of Houston), Treasurer
Sean Atkinson (University of Texas at Arlington)
Kevin Clifton (Sam Houston State University)
Blaise Ferrandino (Texas Christian University)
Sarah Sarver (Oklahoma City University)

Program Committee

Cynthia Gonzales, Texas State University
David Forrest, Texas Tech University
Charles Leinberger, University of Texas at El Paso
Stacey Davis, University of Texas at San Antonio

Local Arrangements Committee

Jennifer Beavers (Chair)
Stacey Davis

This page is maintained by Philip Baczewski

[TSMT Web Site]