Texas Society for Music Theory
38th Annual Conference
February 26 - 27, 2016
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Belton, Texas

Conference Program

February 26 - Morning Sessions

McLane Great Hall, Bawcom Student Union, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

COFFEE and REGISTRATION: (8:00 - 9:00)

WELCOME: (9:00)

SESSION I: (9:15 - 10:45) Great Hall E - Storytelling

Session Chair: Marianne Wheeldon, University of Texas

BREAK: (10:45 - 11:00)

SESSION II: (11:00 - 12:00) Great Hall C - Time in Conflict

Session Chair: Timothy Jackson, University of North Texas

SESSION III: (11:00 - 12:00) Great Hall E - Form in Conflict

Session Chair: Charles Leinberger, University of Texas at El Paso

LUNCH: (12:00 - 1:30) Great Hall A

February 26 - Afternoon Sessions

Pedagogy Session (1:30 - 3:00) Great Hall E - Flipped Classroom Strategies for Music Theory Instruction

Session Chair: Blaise Ferrandino, Texas Christian University
Presenter: Sean Atkinson, Texas Christian University
Respondent: Roger Graybill, New England Conservatory

BREAK: (3:00 - 3:15)

SESSION IV: (3:15 - 4:15) Great Hall E - Schenker, evolving

Session Chair: Stephen Slottow, University of North Texas

SESSION V: (3:15 - 4:15) Great Hall C - Undercutting narrative

Session Chair: Eric Drott, University of Texas

BREAK: (4:15 - 4:30)

Keynote Address: (4:30 - 5:30) Great Hall E - Kinesthetic Imagination in the Theory Class

Roger Graybill, New England Conservatory

Reception: (5:30) Great Hall A

February 27

McLane Great Hall, Bawcom Student Union, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

Coffee/Poster Session (8:00 - 9:20)

POSTER SESSION: (8:00 - 9:20) Great Hall Lobby - Compositional Procedures and Emerging Analytical Technologies

Session Chair: Cynthia Gonzales, Texas State University)

SESSION VI: (9:30 - 10:30) Great Hall E - Stylistic Building Blocks in the 20th Century

Session Chair: David Forrest, Texas Tech University

SESSION VII: (9:30 - 10:30) Great Hall C - Stylistic Building Blocks in the 18th Century

Session Chair: Damian Blätttler, Rice University

BREAK: (10:30 - 10:40)

SESSION VIII: (10:40 - 12:10) Great Hall E - What is he Haydn?

Session Chair: Frank Heidlberger, University of North Texas

BREAK: (12:10 - 12:15)

TSMT Business Meeting: (12:15) Great Hall E

TSMT Executive Board

Peter Martens (Texas Tech University), President
Graham Hunt (University of Texas at Arlington), Immediate Past President
Philip Baczewski (University of North Texas), Secretary
Andrew Davis (University of Houston), Treasurer
Charles Leinberger (University of Texas at El Paso)
David Forrest (Texas Tech University)
Blaise Ferrandino (Texas Christian University)
Joshua Albrecht (University of Mary Hardin-Baylor)

Program Committee

Jennifer Beavers (University of Texas at San Antonio)
Aaminah Durrani (University of Houston)
Erik Heine (Oklahoma City University)
Horace Maxile (Baylor University)
[TSMT Web Site]