The Texas Society for Music Theory

24th Annual Meeting


University of Texas at Austin

Music Recital Hall


Friday, February 15, 2002

MRH 2.608



8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.               Registration - outside MRH 2.608


9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.             Welcome and Paper Session ITonal Structures,Old and New


Adam Ricci:          “A Classification Scheme for Harmonic Sequences”

Rachel Mann:        “Tonal References in Dallapiccola’s Andantino

                              Amoroso e Contrapunctus Tertius”


10:30 a.m. – 11:40 a.m.           Paper Session II Elements of Structural Hierarchy in Contrasting Styles


Matthew Santa:     “Structural Levels in Post-Tonal Diatonic Music:  The First Scene from Stravinsky’s Agon

Timothy Koozin: “Rhythm and Meter in Funk Music”


12:00 noon                              Luncheon - University of Texas Club


2:00 p.m.                                 Keynote Address –    "Composers' Words, Theorists' Analyses

(Sometimes the Twain Shall Meet)"

Peter Kaminsky – University of Connecticut at Storrs


3:15 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.             Paper Session III  Programatic and Symbolic Aspects


                                                Frank Riddick:      “Allusion, Association and Symbolism in Zemlinsky’s Second String Quartet”

Michael Klein:      “Pastoral and Tragic Expressive Narratives in Chopin’s Ballade in F minor, Opus 52”

Sarah Reichardt:    “The Space Between:  The Modern Subject and Shostakovich’s Seventh String Quartet”





Saturday, February 16

MRH 2.614



8:30 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.             Paper Session IV- Harmonic and Tonal Structures in

                                    Chromatic and Modal Contexts


Vincent Benitez:  “Exploring Messiaen’s Later Harmonic Language:

      An Examination of Three Non-Modal Chord Types in Saint Francois d’ Assise

Jacquelyn Hale:   “Wladimir Vogel’s Konzert fur Violoncello und

Orchester (1955):  Tertian Sonorities and Tonal Coherence in a Twelve-tone Work”

William Hussey:  “Linear Chromaticism in the Music of Dmitri



                                                Business Meeting – 10:30 a.m. MRH 2.614



Program Selection Panel


Andrew Anderson (Southern Methodist University), Guy Capuzzo (Texas Tech University), Tim Cutler (Austin College), Kip Wile (Sam Houston State University)


TSMT Executive Board


Blaise J. Ferrandino (Texas Christian University), President; James Bennighof (Baylor University), Past-President; Philip Baczewski (University of North Texas), Secretary; Jana Millar (Baylor University), Treasurer; Ed Pearsall (University of Texas at Austin), board member and meeting host; Tim Koozin (University of Houston);  Karen McBee (Panola College); Barbara Wallace (Dallas Baptist University)